Programme & speakers


The main themes of the WCTP2023 will be:

  • Tattooing after REACH: How does the new European restriction impact practice. Covering market adherence, artists & industries experiences, researchers view, chemical analytics
  • Medical & clinical research. Covering anesthetic creams, allergy and research on other side effects of tattooing
  • Chemical analytics and basic tattooing research. Exposure of tattoo ink ingredients, 3D skin models

But will also cover

  • Epidemiology, clinical research and tattoo complications addressing tattoo allergy, potential carcinogenicity and other topics
  • The many faces and aspects of tattooing: breast reconstruction, permanent make-up

NEW - Tattoo & PMU Artist Educational Workshop

Half day workshop and education on tattoo hygiene, legal aspects, aftercare and short-term dermal complications with active participation of tattooists, PMU-artists and specialized dermatologists. 

>> Find more information and the programme of the workshop here << 


Confirmed Speakers

Alphabetical order (status February, 2023)

Board members of the ESTP: 

  • Maurice Adatto (Universiy clinic for dermatology, Bern, Switzerland)
  • Wolfgang Bäumler (University Hospital of Regensburg, Germany)
  • Christa De Cuyper (Dermatologist, Bruges, Belgium) 
  • Michael Dirks (Founder and managing director of THE 3 PYLONS GmbH, Germany)
  • Milena Foerster (International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC), Lyon, France) 
  • Urs Hauri (Cantonal Laboratory Basel, Switzerland)
  • Katrina Hutton Carlsen (Bispebjerg Hospital, Denmark)
  • Marie Leger (Dermatologist, New York, USA)
  • Walter Liszewski (Dermatologist, Northwestern University, USA)
  • Jørgen Serup (Bispebjerg Hospital, Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Ines Schreiver (German Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (BfR), Berlin, Germany)
  • Steffen Schubert (German Information Network of Departments of Dermatology (IVDK), Göttingen, Germany)
  • Sebastiaan van der Bent (Dermatologist, Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

International invited speakers:

  • Jens Bergstrøm (Heavenly Ink, Sweden)
  • Aaron Deter-Wolf (Tennessee Division of Archaeology, USA)
  • CETA - European Tattoo Association
  • Andy Engel (Tattoo Artist, Andy Engel BWK, Germany)
  • Michael Frey (Tattoo Artist, Germany)
  • Birgit Gutsche (CVUA, Germany)
  • Esben Hammershøy (InkBase, Denmark)
  • Joey Karregat (Amsterdam University Medical Center, The Netherlands)
  • Linda Katz (Food and Drug Administration (FDA), USA)
  • Nicolas Kluger (Department of Dermatology, Helsinki University Hospital, Finland) 
  • Susanne Kochs (BfR, Germany) 
  • Walter Liszewski (Department of Dermatology, Northwestern University, Chicago, USA)
  • Erich Mähnert (Tattoo Artist & “Save-the-pigments” activist, Austria)
  • John Misock (Ceutical Labs, USA)
  • Nataly Portilla (Department of Dermatology, Clínica Erasmo, Colombia)
  • Rebecca Ryrberg (SRT - Sweden's registered tattooists, Sweden)
  • Marko Sussnik (Austrian Economic Chamber (WKO), Vienna, Austria)


More to be announced shortly!